2011 World Food Prize Laureate - Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva

Posted on by on September 21st, 2011 | 0 Comments »

This is the third in a series of blog posts leading up to this year’s 25thAnniversary of The World Food Prize in Des Moines, Iowa where GHI will release the 2nd Annual Global Agricultural Productivity Report™ at its signature event on October 12. (RSVP Here)

Fighting hunger and poverty has always been a top priority of President Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, as he understands from personal experience the many challenges and difficulties faced by the poor.

When Lula da Silva became President of Brazil in 2002, he pledged to end hunger in his country during his first term. To achieve this lofty goal, he instituted the Zero Hunger Program, which provided access to food, strengthened family farms, increased primary school enrollment and empowered the poor.

An important part of Zero Hunger was the Food Purchase Program, which helped contribute to rural development by acquiring food directly from smallholder farmers. Another impactful initiative was the School Feeding Program, which fed forty-seven million children in 2010. In addition to improved access to quality food, the program helped child malnutrition decrease by 61.9 percent between 2003 and 2009.

President Lula da Silva’s Zero Hunger Program was extremely successful and even exceeded Millennium Development Goal 1, as Brazil reduced by half its proportion of hungry people and also reduced the percentage of Brazilians living in extreme poverty from 12 percent in 2003 to 4.8 percent in 2009. When Lula da Silva left office in 2010, his success in office was evident by his approval rating of more than 80 percent.

To honor his visionary leadership and contribution to alleviating hunger and improving food security in Brazil, Lula da Silva has been chosen as a co-recipient of the 2011 World Food Prize along with John Agyekum Kufuor, former President of Ghana.

For a full biography of Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, click here.

To register for GHI’s 2nd Annual Global Agricultural Productivity Announcement Luncheon, RSVP Here.

« Dr. Norman E. Borlaug – A Legacy Worth Celebrating
2011 World Food Prize Laureate – John Agyekum Kufuor »

No Comments