Harvest 2050 Blog

Former Presidents of Brazil, Ghana Honored as 2011 World Food Prize Laureates

JUNE 21, 2011

John Agyekum Kufuor, former president of Ghana, and Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva, former president of Brazil have both been honored as 2011 World Food Prize Laureates for their successful efforts in helping to alleviate hunger and poverty in their respective countries.

Due to Kufuor and Lula da Silva’s leadership and sustained commitment to fighting hunger and poverty, Ghana and Brazil both saw dramatic reductions in hunger and poverty rates during the course of their tenure.

Both former presidents will be officially awarded at The World Food Prize 25th Anniversary Laureate Award Ceremony on October 13, in Des Moines, Iowa. Since 1987, The World Food Prize has recognized individuals with notable achievements in increasing the quality, quantity, or availability of food in the world.

Both USDA Secretary, Tom Vilsack, and USAID Administrator, Rajiv Shah, spoke at today’s World Food Prize Laureate Ceremony and offered accolades to this year’s award winners. According to Vilsack, “…Presidents Kufuor and Lula da Silva have advanced food security for their people by pursuing innovative policies and programs, and their leadership and work stand as a model to all nations working to meet the moral imperative of feeding the world.”

This year’s World Food Prize is themed: “The Next Generation: Confronting the Hunger Challenges of Tomorrow.”

More information can be found at www.worldfoodprize.org/laureates.